FRESH IDEA: Homemade Almond Milk

Almond milkOne of the greatest by-products of jet lag? Industry. It’s Sunday morning and I am making almond milk.

I remember the first time I tasted cow’s milk after my lactose-free early years, and I believe I really wanted it to taste like this (It did not, it tasted like the inside of a cow.)

 

 

Does it use up lots of almonds? Yes. Should I probably leave the job to pros like The Pressery? Probably. But in terms of domestic satisfaction and having confidence in its purity, I couldn’t be more satiated than if I’d raised and milked a cow myself.

1 cup raw almonds, soaked with a pinch of salt for 24hrs +

2 cups filtered water

Blend continuously for 2 minutes

Pass through a clean piece of muslin (or pantyhose)

Add sweetener to taste (I used 1/2 teaspoon of maple syrup)

 

Keeps: 2 days

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

